Username: Password:

St. Thomas the Apostle Church

Journey Nights

Journey Nights: What the heck are they?

Journey Nights are the foundational element of our High School Confirmation & Youth Ministry program.  They typically follow the format of having a main presenter or keynote and are often complimented by teen and/or adult witnesses, worship music, prayer, and other dynamic activities relating to a central theme.

Journey Nights are dependent on the expectation that BOTH parents and teens attend together.  Those in their 2nd year of prep are encouraged to invite their Confirmation sponsor to attend as well.

These events are offered on a THREE YEAR cycle — meaning the topics will rotate and they are geared towards helping the teen and parent(s) dive deeper into their faith in a very practical, and real way.

The theme for the 2016-2017 Journey Program is “Who Am I? Who Is God?”  Through each session, participants will be challenged to explore who they are and deepen their sense of personal identity.  In addition, participants will explore the myths and realities about who God is and how God’s active in their lives, through the Church, in our world, and throughout human history!

The 2016-2017 Journey Night Topics for “Who Am I? Who Is God?” dates, topics, and keynotes are the following:

1. September 18, 2016 – “Stories of Faith” with Jeanne Cotter (jeannecotter.com)

2. October 16, 2016 – “Blessed, Broken, & Shared” with Jon Leonetti (jonleonetti.com)

3. January 29, 2017 – (Special Time 7:30 – 9 P.M.) ““Emotional Virtue” with Sarah Swafford (emotionalvirtue.com)

4. February 16, 2017 (Thursday 7:00-8:30 P.M.) -“Can You Hear Me Now? Hearing God in the Everyday” with John Angotti (johnangotti.com)

5. April 30, 2017 – “Understanding Vocation: What’s My Calling” with TBA

 

Previous Years’ Topics:

2015-16 Topics: Discipleship: The Great Adventure

  1. September 13, 2015 Kick-Off “Discipleship: The Great Adventure” with Bill Johnson
  2. November 15, 2015 “Here I Am, Lord” with Noelle Garcia (www.noellegarciamusic.net)
  3. January 24, 2016 “TBA” with Chris Padgett (www.chris-padgett.com)
  4. March 6, 2016 “Smelly Catholics” with Fr. Jack Conley
  5. April 17, 2016 “Who God Is and Why It Matters to Me” with Jon Leonetti (www.jonleonetti.com)

2014-15 Topics: God Breaking Through

  1. Kick-Off: “Creation & Covenant” with Jim Papandrea (www.jimpapandrea.com)
  2. “Salvation History” with Chris Padgett (www.chris-padgett.com)
  3. “Faith in the Modern World” with Rich Curran (www.richcurran.com)
  4. February 26, 2015 “Song & Storytelling” with Steve Angrisano (www.steveangrisano.com)
  5. April 26, 2015 “Called to be Saints” with Bill Johnson   CANCELED

2013-2014 Topics: Identity

  1. Kick-Off: “Child of God” with Tammy Evevard
  2. “Yes I’m Catholic…Just Don’t Ask What That Means!” with Bill Johnson
  3. “In God’s Image: The Theology of the Body” with Amanda Vernon (amandavernon.com)
  4. “You Are What You Eat: The Body of Christ” with John Grossman (www.donahuegrossman.org)
  5. “Go Long: Faith in Sports” with J Leman

2012-2013 Topics: Discipleship

  1. Kick-Off: “To Follow Christ…” with Judy McDonald (judymcdonald.net)
  2. “The Story of Peter” with Rich Curran (www.richcurran.com)
  3. “Kingdom of God”
  4. “The Beatitudes & Social Justice”
  5. “Prayer” – No keynote…prayer breakouts run by parishioners of St. Thomas

 

Polls

Sorry, there are no polls available at the moment.

Contact Us

Contact us by phone at (630) 355-8980 or by email at ym@stapostle.org